Yacht by the Croatian islands.

Croatia is Now Officially Part of the Schengen Zone

A long waited day is finally here: no more checking in/out if the yacht is coming from another Schengen country, as Croatia became a full Schengen member.

Starting from January 1, 2023, Croatia has become a member of the Schengen Area, which means there will be no border checks between Croatia and other Schengen zone countries.

Furthermore, Croatia can now issue Schengen visas, which means non-EU crew who require a permit for the Schengen Area can apply for a Schengen visa specifically for Croatia and use it to travel around the zone.

And, while arrival/departure of Croatia just became significantly easier for the yacht itself, a new responsibility lands on the shoulders of the non-EU crew – counting Schengen allowance days. From now on, days spent in Croatia will be counted in your visa allowance system.

Details regarding the arrival/departure of vessels after Croatia entered the Schengen area:


  1. Before entering Croatian territorial waters, you must obtain a vignette.
  2. There is no mandatory border and customs control for either crew or passengers.
  3. Tourist fees are paid as before: private – by purchasing online for the desired period; commercial – through the e-crew system per day of each guest’s stay (1.33EUR pax/day).
  4. Maritime and border police, customs, and port authorities reserve the right to conduct their controls and other procedures in situations they consider potentially suspicious or a threat to the Schengen area and Croatian waters.
  5. From now on, the days spent in Croatian waters are counted as days spent in the Schengen area, and the crew is responsible for keeping track of the number of days spent there.

All of the above also applies if the vessel enters international waters from one of the Schengen countries – for example, if the vessel departs from Malta and spends part of the voyage in international waters before entering the Schengen area again – in that case, there is no border control.


  1. Border control and all other procedures are the same as before.
  2. For commercial vessels, the rule remains that the crew and passenger lists must be submitted in eCrew format at the border control, regardless of whether there are passengers or only crew members.
  3. Some border crossings are abolished – Dubrovnik remains open 24/7, and Cavtat and Vis should be open year-round.
  4. List of border crossings that REMAIN: Umag, Pula, Mali Lošinj, Rijeka, Raša-Bršica, Split, Zadar, Šibenik, Dubrovnik, Vis, Ubli, and Cavtat.
  5. List of border crossings that are ABOLISHED: ACI Marina Umag, Novigrad (Istra), Rovinj, Sali (Dugi Otok), Božava (Dugi Otok), Primošten, Hvar and Stari Grad (Hvar), Komiža (Vis), Korčula.


  1. There is no border control upon departure.
  2. The case of leaving CRO further into the Schengen area through international waters applies.
  3. Commercial vessels conclude eCrew after leaving Croatian waters.


  1. Border control is the same as before at one of the crossings from the list above.
  2. Commercial vessels use the e-crew format for outbound border control.

As Croatia joins the Schengen area, these rules and regulations are essential to ensure a safe and comfortable journey for all seafarers and tourists. 

If you or your crew require any additional information, we are glad to support you along the way and help you prepare for the trip. Contact our team via em.gnithcay-a@ofni, and we will gladly assist you. 

Please fill in the form below and do let us know how can we support you.

Sign up for our monthly newsletter